I’ve never cried over a book

First things first, I’ve never cried over a book. I like tragedy books but I never cried. Sad books are sad especially when someone dies but I never cried. BUT. this. book. made me. cry! Seriously. *Straight face*

the-heart_1

If you have read my previous post about Clarence, he’s the guy I met online and I had met him when I started working. Anyway, he’s a bookworm and he doesn’t want me to borrow any of his Murakami books because those are his favorite and very special to him. So, I asked him to lend me any of his books with a plot that someone dies. He lend me this one.

What’s this book about?

This is a book with no synopsis. This is a book of different characters and their stories so I don’t know who’s this book is all about, at first. This is about the mute Jew  and his fat and mute Greek best friend, the observant owner of New York Cafe, the young lady who dreams to have her piano, a Negro doctor who aims freedom for his race, and a sober man who came with some sort of activist mind.

Tell me more about the story

The story at first is boring because there are no dialogues, there are, but a few, because the author mostly describes the scenarios; however, when I try to understand and imagine each part, it seems like I am an extra character in the story who’s listening, eating, drinking, playing or watching the characters doing their part. Also, I felt like I am the mute who doesn’t say anything just listening to other characters’ rants.

Why did you cry?

The title says it all. The characters’ lives are aiming for something they want in life. They are fighting for something. I can actually feel what they’re feeling because I even want and aim for something. OK. TOO MUCH IDEAS, I cried because of the mute! The author has set the “lonely” mood from the beginning. The beginning is the mute’s story.

Reading the last part of the book while listening to Birdy’s songs is not a good idea. Try to read it in the rainy weather, it will definitely double the mood.

Who’s your favorite character?

Uh. The mute and the young lady. However, the Negro doctor is the least of my fave but he had given me more ideas about different races especially to Negroes. I am not racist but his purpose has somehow made understand about the reality. This is just a novel but I learned about social discrimination and understand some areas of the Negro race or colored-people as what the author called them. I want to say more about this part, but I’m talking about this book so. Yeah.

Quotes from the book

I am one who knows. I am a stranger in a strange land.

Why was it that in cases of real love the one who is left does not more often follow the beloved by suicide?

You know it’s like I got to wear blinders all the time so I won’t think sideways or in the past.

For there was another thing bigger than the tiredness – and this was the strong true purpose.

The way I need you is a loneliness I cannot bear.

I am not meant to be alone and without you who understand.

The word of God sure do mean a lot in a time of trouble.

My first belief was Jesus.

The grievous love he felt within him was too much.

There so many quotes in the book but these are the lines I took note of.

At the end of this, I haven’t finished the last chapter of the book because I got shocked with the previous part. That was the part that I cried.

Anyway, this is a book for anyone. You can be a happy person or a melancholic one, there are no specific reader for this book. If you have so much sadness in you, you will actually realize something that makes you stand and live. If you’re a happy person, you will keep on aiming of what your heart desires. This book has so much respect. It’s my favorite book now.

A lonely hunter,

Clarence

Leave a Reply

